Something Magical

I don’t get to play much magic these days…real life is somewhat of a pain in the arse in that regard. Maybe when I get my car..That’s what I keep telling myself anyway. Really i’m just too lazy to devote a valuable weekend day to play cards.

You can’t keep the inner Flores Barn in me down though, because I can’t stop making decks! I make DI decks at work, some of them are promising (and will probably get posted here at some point soon), others are like..this. Just interesting ideas. This is a standard idea I cooked up coupling the elf engine that ker-pwn-smashed PT Berlin with Antoine Ruel’s card Ranger of Eos to restart the mana engine.

Antoine Elves

19 Land
4 Fire-lit Thicket
4 Wooded Bastion
11 Forest

31 Creatures
4 Birds of Paradise
4 Llanowar Elves
4 Heritage Druid
4 Nettle Sentinel
1 Burrenton Forge-Tender
4 Wren’s Run Vanquisher
4 Imperious Perfect
4 Ranger of Eos
2 Mycoloth

10 Spells
4 Gilt-Leaf Ambush
3 Hunting Triad
3 Titanic Ultimatum

Sideboard
4 Troll Ascetoc
4 Naturalize
3 Burrenton Forge-Tender
3 Sigil of Distinction
1 Door of Destinies

Seems like a lot has to go right for this deck to win, but I can see it being a lot of fun for sure. Maybe a version with Distant Melody is also playable, I can actually really see a “Bantoine Elves” with good spells like Bant Charm in the maindeck to go with the Distant Melody. I like the Troll/Sigil sideboard plan against Firespout decks. The Door of Destinies is for against decks with Infest. Obviously this is a first pass (I made it at work, and I don’t really get much of an opportunity to tune decks and numbers at work), so maybe i’ll have a chance to test this and bring it to something someone would consider playing at…I don’t know. FNM.

Enjoy!
– RP

Leave a Reply

