States 09 – Searching for Scissors: UWr Reveillark

This deck looks like a lot of fun – I made a semi-miraculous comeback with it against a Bloom Razer deck playing with it on Magic Workstation…I know it’s not a huge achievement because Bloom Razer blows (cloud)goats, but still, any comeback is fine with me – any deck that can take a pounding and then perform the HBK Kip-up is favoured with me because it inspires confidence in the deck. Below is the first pass at the list.

4 Glen Elendra Archmage
4 Mulldrifter
3 Reveillark
2 Sower of Temptation
1 Knight-Captain of Eos

4 Mind Stone
4 Wrath of God
4 Cryptic Command
4 Path to Exile
4 Ajani Vengeant
1 Banefire

4 Vivid Creek
3 Vivid Meadow
4 Mystic Gate
3 Rugged Prairie
2 Cascade Bluffs
4 Reflecting Pool
3 Island
2 Plains

3 Comments »

  1. Mathew Bowman said

    Love the deck!

    Im iffy on the Archmage/Lark numbers, I would likely swap them. I have a feeling that 2x Path & 2x Clasm/Fallout may be better too.

    How has the mana been? Seems pretty good, 25 land + Mindstone seems to be where you want it.

    Would love to see this at your FNM with some reporty goodness??

  2. LukeW said

    HAHAHAHA Pezza? Fnm??? You are a funnny man Matt

  3. crampedheadspace said

    Mat,

    I completely agree on the Archmage/Lark numbers, and it looks like the pros (who just write about my decks all the time) think so too. I just goofed on the original list, I was too in love with Archmage at the time.

    However, I think that maindeck Fallout/Clasm is miserable. Notwithstanding that I am never a fan of the 2/2 splits anyway (unless they are functionally the same, and your’e diversifying against Cranial Extraction, of which neither applies here). Diversifying your answers is not, and has not ever been a viable strategy. What diverse decks ever succeed at the top levels? The best decks are consistent, powerful, well-oiled machines. Even the TSP teachings decks weren’t that diverse. The reason I don’t play a small sweeper maindeck is because the Lark engine requires two-power creatures, and in this format, the best two-power creatures also have two toughness. I have four in the sideboard to help against Fae, and I think the effectiveness of Fae has been sufficiently blunted to the point that you don’t need dedicated maindeck defense against it.

    Unfortunately, it appears I don’t have another FNM before States, so no can do on the tournament report i’m afraid.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

